Rondo gets votes for most improved

Nathaniel S. Butler/NBAE/Getty Images

Two voters regarded Rajon Rondo as the most improved player in the NBA this year.While not as notable as his fifth-place finish in the Defensive Player of the Year Award balloting earlier this week, Celtics point guard Rajon Rondo picked up a pair of first-place votes to finish 12th in returns for the Most Improved Player Award.

Rondo registered 12 points off two first-place and two third-place votes, tying Washington Andray Blatche for 12th place. Houston's Aaron Brooks won the award with 403 total points, easily outdistancing Oklahoma City's Kevin Durant, Memphis' Marc Gasol, and San Antonio's George Hill, who all registered 101 points.

Here's a quick glance at Rondo's improvement this season over his career numbers. It's easy to see how he made the leap to All-Star this year:

Points per game - 9.6 career, 13.7 in 2009-10 (+4.1)

Assists per game - 5.7 career, 9.8 in 2009-10 (+4.1)

Steals per game - 1.73 career, 2.33 in 2009-10 (+0.6)

FG - 48 percent career, 50.8 percent in 2009-10 (+2.8)

Assist/turnover ratio - 2.74 career, 3.22 in 2009-10 (+0.48)

Double-doubles - 23 career, 40 in 2009-10

Follow the jump for the list of the yearly winners since the award's inception in 1985 and this year's complete balloting.

1985-86Alvin Robertson, San Antonio

1986-87Dale Ellis, Seattle

1987-88Kevin Duckworth, Portland

1988-89Kevin Johnson, Phoenix

1989-90 Rony Seikaly, Miami

1990-91Scott Skiles, Orlando

1991-92Pervis Ellison, Washington

1992-93Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, Denver

1993-94Don MacLean, Washington

1994-95Dana Barros, Philadelphia

1995-96Gheorghe Muresan, Washington

1996-97Isaac Austin, Miami

1997-98Alan Henderson, Atlanta

1998-99Darrell Armstrong, Orlando

1999-00Jalen Rose, Indiana

2000-01Tracy McGrady, Orlando

2001-02 Jermaine O'Neal, Indiana

2002-03Gilbert Arenas, Golden State

2003-04 Zach Randolph, Portland

2004-05*Bobby Simmons, L.A. Clippers

2005-06Boris Diaw, Phoenix

2006-07Monta Ellis, Golden State

2007-08Hedo Turkoglu, Orland

2009-10 Most Improved Player Award

(listed with player, team, 1st place votes, 2nd place votes, 3rd place votes, and total points):

Aaron BrooksHouston622712403

Kevin DurantOklahoma City1751101

Marc GasolMemphis91317101

George HillSan Antonio71715101

Andrew BogutMilwaukee717793

Russell WestbrookOklahoma City5119 67

Joakim NoahChicago78564

Gerald WallaceCharlotte34229

Corey BrewerMinnesota - 31019

Brook LopezNew Jersey13519

Carl LandrySacramento- 4618

Andray BlatcheWashington12112

Rajon RondoBoston2- 212

Channing FryePhoenix1 -510

Danilo GallinariNew York -1710

Josh SmithAtlanta- 228

David LeeNew York -- 77

Dwight HowardOrlando1- -5

Ersan IlyasovaMilwaukee -114

Chris KamanLA Clippers -114

J.J. RedickOrlando -114

Chris Douglas-RobertsNew Jersey -1 -


Paul MillsapUtah -1 -3

NeneDenver -1 -3

Robin LopezPhoenix -- 22

Monta EllisGolden State - -11

J.J. HicksonCleveland - -11

Zach RandolphMemphis - -11

John SalmonsMilwaukee - -11

Ben WallaceDetroit - -11