Rondo named 15th captain of Celtics

BOSTON -- Boston Celtics point guard Rajon Rondo was announced as the 15th captain in Celtics history during lineup introductions before Friday's game against the Los Angeles Lakers.

Celtics first-year coach Brad Stevens said before the season that it was his preference to not name a captain and the Celtics were poised to go without a captain for the first time in 63 years. It appears Stevens and the team had a change of heart, though it shouldn't come as a surprise as his teammates have often gushed about Rondo's leadership even while rehabbing.

"I've always believed that captains name themselves with their leadership on and off the court,” Stevens told the team's web site. “This isn't about us naming Rondo captain. This is about him earning that title through his play as a Celtic, his accountability as a leader of this team, and his commitment to the Boston community."

A look at Boston's history of captains:

1950-63: Bob Cousy

1963-69: Bill Russell

1969-78: John Havlicek

1978-80: Dave Cowens

1980-92: Larry Bird

1992-93: Reggie Lewis

1993-94: Robert Parish

1994-95: Dee Brown and Dominique Wilkins

1995-96: Dee Brown

1996-97: Rick Fox

1997-98: Dee Brown, Pervis Ellison and Antoine Walker

1998-99: Antoine Walker

1999-2000: Antoine Walker and Dana Barros

2000-03: Antoine Walker and Paul Pierce

2003-13: Paul Pierce

2013-14: Rajon Rondo