Who has guaranteed contracts?

Under the NFL's collective bargaining agreement, any player with four or more years of experience that is on a team's 53-man roster for Week 1 is entitled to his guaranteed salary for that season.

If a player with four or more years of experience is signed after Week 1 of the regular season, his salary is not guaranteed. That opens the door for the team to release a veteran player signed after Week 1 without financial penalty. As an example, the Jets released quarterback Brady Quinn on Saturday -- with signs pointing towards them re-signing him this week -- so that he would not have his full guaranteed salary. If the team does in fact re-sign him and subsequently release him, Quinn would not earn his full base salary.

For the Patriots, there are 18 players who have at least four years of experience on their roster, meaning they are each entitled to their guaranteed salary.

WR Danny Amendola

CB Kyle Arrington

QB Tom Brady

DB Marquice Cole

WR Julian Edelman

K Stephen Gostkowski

S Steve Gregory

DT Tommy Kelly

G Logan Mankins

LB Jerod Mayo

DE Rob Ninkovich

WR Matthew Slater

OL Will Svitek

CB Aqib Talib

OT Sebastian Vollmer

RB Leon Washington

C Ryan Wendell

DT Vince Wilfork

If any other veteran of four or more seasons is signed from here on out, he will only earn his base salary for as many weeks as he is on the roster. Players are paid weekly throughout the season, typically on Tuesdays.