A look at the Panthers' first unofficial depth chart

SPARTANBURG, S.C. -- The Carolina Panthers' public relations department put out the first depth chart of the year for Friday’s exhibition opener at Buffalo, but it’s far from official.

Tre Boston is listed as the starting free safety and Roman Harper the strong safety. Kurt Coleman has taken most of the first-team reps at strong safety and Harper has been at free.

Rookie running back Cameron Artis-Payne is listed as the fourth running back even though he’s taken a significant amount of snaps with the second team.

Running back Jordan Todman is listed as the third kickoff returner even though he’s been working as the lead returner.

Rookie wide receiver Devin Funchess is listed among the third group of wide receivers, and there’s no way he’ll be that far down the depth chart once the season begins.

Again, it’s early and this is unofficial, but it gives you an idea of where things are headed.


WR: Kelvin Benjamin, Ted Ginn Jr., Brenton Bersin, Jarrett Boykin

LT: Michael Oher, Nate Chandler, Amini Silatolu, David Foucault

LG: Andrew Norwell, Silatolu

C: Ryan Kalil, Brian Folkerts, Jordan McCray

RG: Trai Turner, Chris Scott, Martin Wallace

RT: Mike Remmers, Daryl Williams, Tony Hills

TE: Greg Olsen, Ed Dickson, Richie Brockel, Scott Simonson

WR: Corey Brown, Jerricho Cotchery, Funchess, Damiere Byrd

QB: Cam Newton, Derek Anderson, Joe Webb

FB: Mike Tolbert, Brockel, Lee Ward

RB: Jonathan Stewart, Fozzy Whittaker, Todman, Artis-Payne


LDE: Charles Johnson, Wes Horton, Arthur Miley, Rakim Cox

LDT: Star Lotulelei, Colin Cole, Kyle Love, Terry Redden

RDT: Kawann Short, Dwan Edwards, Micanor Regis, Chas Alecxih

RDE: Frank Alexander, Kony Ealy, Mario Addison, Steve Miller

SLB: A.J. Klein, Shaq Thompson, Jason Trusnik

MLB: Luke Kuechly, David Mayo, Ben Jacobs

WLB: Thomas Davis, Adarius Glanton, Brian Blechen, Kevin Reddick

LCB: Charles Tillman, Bene Benwikere, Teddy Williams, T.J. Heath

RCB: Josh Norman, Carrington Byndom, Melvin White, Lou Young

SS: Harper, Robert Lester, Dean Marlowe

FS: Boston, Coleman, Colin Jones, Marcus Ball


K: Graham Gano

PK: Brad Nortman

DS: J.J. Jansen

KR: Ginn Jr., Whittaker, Todman

PR: Ginn Jr., Bersin, Corey Brown