Hawks petition to include Mayers on Cup

CHICAGO -- The Chicago Blackhawks were granted permission to have Jamal Mayers' name engraved on the Stanley Cup as part of their 2012-13 championship team despite not meeting eligibility requirements after players and management filed a petition.

During a full 82-game season, players are required to play in half of the regular-season games or appear in one Stanley Cup finals game to be eligible to be on the Stanley Cup. Last season, due to the shortened 48-game season, the requirements were to either play in 23 regular-season game or one Stanley Cup finals game.

Mayers fell short of those requirements after playing in 19 regular-season games and no playoff games.

The Blackhawks unveiled the newly-engraved Stanley Cup on Thursday, and it included Mayers’ name.

“Good for Jammer; I’m happy for him,” Blackhawks coach Joel Quenneville said on Thursday. “He was a big part of our team. We loved what he brought. His experience, his leadership, his professionalism was in the right spot. I’m sure he had a great summer when he got to hoist the Cup and had it in St. Louis. It’s always a proud moment. I’m happy for him.”

The Blackhawk had 52 names engraved on the Cup in total. The list includes 25 players and 27 coaches, front office executives and hockey operations personnel.

The names appear on the Stanley Cup as follows: Rockwell Wirtz, John McDonough, Jay Blunk, Stan Bowman, Al MacIsaac, Norm Maciver, Scotty Bowman, Joel Quenneville, Mike Kitchen, Jamie Kompon, Stephane Waite, Mike Gapski, Troy Parchman, Jeff Thomas, Clinton Reif, Pawel Prylinski, Jim Heintzelman, Paul Goodman, Tim Campbell, Pierre Gauthier, Mark Kelley, Barry Smith, Ryan Stewart, Ron Anderson, Tony Ommen, Mark Bernard, Dr. Michael Terry, Jonathan Toews, Bryan Bickell, Dave Bolland, Brandon Bollig, Sheldon Brookbank, Daniel Carcillo, Corey Crawford, Ray Emery, Michael Frolik, Michal Handzus, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Marian Hossa, Patrick Kane, Duncan Keith, Marcus Kruger, Nick Leddy, Jamal Mayers, Johnny Oduya, Michal Rozsival, Brandon Saad, Brent Seabrook, Patrick Sharp, Andrew Shaw, Ben Smith, Viktor Stalberg.