Teravainen, Johns on rookie tourney roster

Chicago Blackhawks prospects Teuvo Teravainen and Stephen Johns shouldn’t have to worry about knocking any rust off their games when training camp opens on Sept. 19.

Teravainen and Johns, who are both expected to compete for NHL roster spots in training camp, were among the 23 players named to the Blackhawks’ 2014 Rookie Tournament roster on Thursday. The team will play three games in London, Ontario from Sept. 13-16.

The roster also includes Blackhawks forward prospects Mark McNeill, Alex Broadhurst, Matt Carey, Phillip Danault, Dennis Rasmussen, Ryan Hartman, Garret Ross, defenseman prospects Dillon Fournier, Viktor Svedberg and Trevor van Riemsdyk and goaltender prospect Mac Carruth. Former Blackhawks defenseman prospects Justin Holl and Kiril Gotovets, who are now signed to AHL contracts with the Rockford IceHogs, were also named to the roster.

Free agents Chadd Bauman, Cody Caron, Cory Thorson, Ryan Van Stralen, Brett Welychka, Jamie Wise, Paul Swindlehurst and Ken Appleby complete the Blackhawks rookie roster.

The Blackhawks rookie team will play the rookie teams of the Toronto Maple Leafs on Sept. 13, the Pittsburgh Penguins on Sept. 14 and the Ottawa Senators on Sept. 15. The team will be coached by IceHogs head coach Ted Dent and associate coach Mark Osiecki.