Kelly named Walter Camp COY

Brian Kelly picked up his fourth national coach of the year award Wednesday, as the Notre Dame head man was named the Walter Camp coach of the year.

Kelly is the first Irish coach to win the award, which is voted on by the nation's 124 FBS head coaches and sports information directors.

Kelly will be honored during a Jan. 12 banquet at Yale, where he will also be joined by linebacker Manti Te'o, the Walter Camp player of the year, along with members of the Walter Camp All-America team.

Kelly has already won the Associated Press, Eddie Robinson and Home Depot coach of the year awards this season.

He is also one of six finalists for the Liberty Mutual coach of the year award, which will be announced Monday, the same day as Notre Dame's matchup with Alabama in the Discover BCS National Championship.