Cubs' move to Kane County is official

CHICAGO -- The Chicago Cubs made it official Wednesday, announcing that the club’s Single-A team in the Midwest League will now be located at Kane County in Geneva, Ill.

The move ends the Cubs’ seven-year stay in Peoria. They were also at Peoria from 1985-95. Starting next season, Peoria will be an affiliate of the St. Louis Cardinals.

The Cubs also announced they have renewed their affiliation contracts with Single-A Daytona of the Florida State League and short-season Single-A Boise of the Northwest League.

Daytona just ended its 20th season as a Cubs affiliate, while Boise has been affiliated with the Cubs since 2001.

The move to Kane County puts one of the Cubs’ Single-A teams just 45 miles west of Chicago. Although the Kane County roster won’t be compiled until sometime before players head to spring training, many members of last season’s Boise club are expected to play for the Cougars.

Boise, which had the youngest roster in the Northwest League, came within four outs of winning a title, backed by players such as outfielder Albert Almora and infielder Dan Vogelbach.

Cubs president Theo Epstein said that at the end of the season the Boise club had a legitimate prospect at every position.

All three affiliation contracts announced Wednesday run through the 2014 season.