Numbers to Know: Wednesday Recap

Player of the Night – Jermaine Marshall, Penn State

Penn State entered Wednesday mired in a 14-game losing streak that had left them winless in Big Ten play. The Nittany Lions went on a 33-12 run to overcome a 15-point second half deficit and beat Michigan 84-78. It’s the fifth win over a top-five team in school history, and first since 2001. Marshall was the key to Penn State’s comeback, scoring 19 of his 25 points in the second half.

Scorer of the Night – Myck Kabongo, Texas

Highlighted by an off-balance heave to send the game to overtime, Kabongo scored a career-high 31 points to lift Texas over Oklahoma. That includes 24 points in the final eight minutes of regulation and overtime, as the Longhorns completed a 22-point comeback. To go with the 31 points, he added eight rebounds, six assists and four steals. Kabongo is the only player in Big 12 history to reach all four of those totals in a game.

Bench Player of the Night – Jake Kretzer, Akron

Akron won its 19th straight game and improved to 13-0 in the MAC, as the Zips approach the first unbeaten MAC season in 54 years. Kretzer went 6-for-6 the field, including five threes, on his way to a career-high 19 points in the win over Ohio. He’s the first MAC player in at least 15 years to go 5-for-5 from three-point range off the bench.

Freshman of the Night – Kyle Anderson, UCLA

Anderson, Shabazz Muhammad and Jordan Adams all topped 21 points in UCLA’s overtime win over Arizona State, so all three are deserving of recognition. But Anderson added 15 rebounds, three assists and four blocks to his 21 points. The last two Pac-12 players to reach those totals were Curtis Borchardt (2002) and Ike Diogu (2004).

Stat Sheet Stuffer – Javon McCrea, Buffalo

The most impressive statistical performance of the night came in a losing effort. McCrea had 32 points, 15 rebounds and eight blocks in an overtime loss to Kent State. The only player to reach those totals in the past 15 seasons was a future lottery pick: Fresno State’s Melvin Ely in 2002.