USC players receive team honors

Sophomore tailback Javorius "Buck" Allen was named team MVP at the annual end-of-season banquet held Friday night at USC’s Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.

The award winners:

  • Most Valuable Player: Allen

  • Most Inspirational Player: outside linebacker Devon Kennard

  • Trojan Way Leadership Award: Kennard, linebacker Hayes Pullard

  • Linemen of the Year: center Marcus Martin (offense), defensive end Leonard Williams (defense)

  • Perimeter Players of the Year: Allen and wide receiver Nelson Agholor (offense), cornerback Josh Shaw and safety Dion Bailey (defense)

  • Special Teams Player of the Year: fullback Soma Vainuku

  • Service Team Players of the Year: quarterback Conner Sullivan (offense), linebacker Nick Schlossberg (defense)

  • Jack Oakie Rise and Shine Award (longest run): Allen (80 yards vs. California)

  • Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): Kennard

  • Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): quarterback Cody Kessler

  • John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): Agholor

  • Joe Collins Walk-on Award: tailback Taylor Ross

  • Courage Award: tight end Randall Telfer, wide receiver Marqise Lee

  • Lifters Award: Kennard, offensive tackle Chad Wheeler

  • Team Captains: Lee, Pullard, Kennard, Martin