PFWA honors Cowboys RB DeMarco Murray

IRVING, Texas -- DeMarco Murray's record-setting season for the Dallas Cowboys led to him being named to the Pro Bowl and earning All-Pro honors, and on Wednesday he was named the Offensive Player of the Year by the Pro Football Writers of America.

Murray led the NFL with 1,845 rushing yards this season and broke Emmitt Smith’s franchise record for yards in a season, set in 1995 with 1,773 yards.

Murray set a Cowboys record with 12 100-yard games in the regular season and added a 13th in the divisional-round playoff loss to the Green Bay Packers with 123 yards on 25 carries. He set an NFL record with eight straight 100-yard games to open the season.

Murray set career highs in rushing yards, carries (392), catches (57) and receiving yards (416). His 2,261 yards from scrimmage were the most in franchise history and led the NFL.

The PFWA also named Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers as the league's Most Valuable Player and Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt as the Defensive Player of the Year.