Team Irvin loads up on Dallas Cowboys

PHOENIX -- When the Pro Bowl kicks off Sunday at University of Phoenix Stadium, the Dallas Cowboys will be almost completely represented on Team Irvin.

With DeMarco Murray as one of his captains and Darren Woodson one of his assistants, it was not a surprise to see Cowboys Hall of Fame receiver Michael Irvin load up on players from his former team.

Only long snapper L.P. Ladouceur will be on Team Carter, led by Hall of Fame receiver Cris Carter.

Murray will have his three offensive linemen -- Tyron Smith, Travis Frederick and Zack Martin -- as well as tight end Jason Witten blocking for him. Tony Romo was Team Irvin’s first pick.

Not only are the six players on the same team, they will be coached by the Cowboys staff.

“It’s going to be great because it just brings that continuity,” Frederick said. “Even if we’re not exactly running our playbook it’s at least the same terminology. It’s a lot of the stuff we will have heard before.”

Team Irvin even was able to grab the Cowboys’ all-time leader in sacks in DeMarcus Ware, who concluded his first season with the Denver Broncos after a nine-year run in Dallas.

“Actually [defensive coordinator Rod Marinelli] came to me and he said, ‘Do you have any rushes left in you? Let’s get to the quarterback this week,’ so I know he’s excited,” Ware said. “He takes his game to a whole other level. Whenever he’s out there able to coach it’s a game and he said, ‘I am going to be on the winning team. I’m not going to lose.’”