U17 national team announced

Following seven rigorous U17 national team training sessions, USA Basketball announced its 12-man roster that will train through June 20 in preparation for the 2012 FIBA U17 World Championship.

The event takes place June 29 through July 8 in Kaunas, Lithuania. The USA U17 team opens the 2012 FIBA U17 World Championship against Australia. The top four teams in each group will advance to the medal round quarterfinals on July 6 with the championship set for July 8.

The following is the official 12-man 2012 USA Men's U17 World Championship Team:

Beejay Anya, DeMatha Catholic (Hyattsville, Md.) 2013

Joel Berry, Lake Highland Prep (Orlando, Fla.) 2014

Stephen Domingo, Saint Ignatius (San Francisco, Calif.) 2013

Conner Frankamp, Wichita North (Wichita, Kan.) 2013

Dakari Johnson, Montverde Academy (Montverde, Fla.) 2014

Stanley Johnson, Mater Dei (Santa Ana, Calif.) 2014

Tyus Jones, Apple Valley (Apple Valley, Minn.) 2014

Kendrick Nunn, Simeon (Chicago) 2013

Jahlil Okafor, Whitney Young (Chicago) 2014

Jabari Parker, Simeon (Chicago) 2013

Johnathan Williams III, Southwind (Memphis, Tenn.) 2013

Justise Winslow, St. John's (Houston) 2014

The USA Basketball Men's U17 National Team is coached by Don Showalter of Mid-Prairie (Wellman, Iowa).

The team includes two high school teammates, Nunn and Parker. Last season the duo led Simeon to a 32-1 record and No. 6 ranking in the POWERADE FAB 50. The team includes six players ranked in the 2013 ESPN 100 and six ranked in the 2014 ESPN 60, including Okafor (No. 2) and Jones (No. 3).

Team USA captured the inaugural FIBA U17 World Championship in 2010. Former Florida guard Bradley Beal, the 2011 Gatorade National Player of the Year, was named tournament MVP as team USA won the Gold Medal with a 8-0 record.

Ronnie Flores is a senior editor for ESPNHS. He can be reached at ronnie.flores@espn.com. Don't forget to follow him on Twitter: @RonFloresESPN