2012 Under Armour Elite 24 announced

The seventh annual Under Armour Elite 24 will be held in Los Angeles at the Venice Beach outdoor courts Aug. 25 and will be televised live on ESPNU (7 p.m. ET). The event also will showcase a slam dunk contest on Aug. 24 (ESPNU, 7 p.m. ET).

Featuring 24 of the nation’s best high school players, the Under Armour Elite 24 was held at the famed Rucker Park in Harlem its first four years. Since 2010 it has been held in Los Angeles and will return to Venice Beach for the third consecutive year.

Last year before an overflow crowd of more than 2,500, the Marques Johnson Squad defeated the Raymond Lewis Squad 142-132. Each squad, in the tradition of the event, are named after local playground legends.

Marques Johnson team MVPs were UCLA recruit Kyle Anderson of St. Anthony (Jersey City, N.J.), who finished with 18 points and eight assists, and Virginia recruit Justin Anderson of Montrose Christian (Portland, Ore.), who finished with 23 points.

Shabazz Muhammad of Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas, Nev.), also headed to UCLA, and Aquille Carr of Patterson (Baltimore, Md.) were named MVPs of the Ray Lew team.

Rosters for the 2012 event will be announced at a later date.

Prominent alumni through the event's first six years include NBA All-Star Kevin Love (Timberwolves), 2010 No. 1 NBA Draft pick John Wall (Wizards) and 2011 NCAA Final Four MOP Kemba Walker (Connecticut). Two Under Armour Elite 24 alumni were named NBA Rookie of the Year -- 2010 honoree Tyreke Evans (Kings) and 2012 honoree Kyrie Irving (Cavaliers), the No. 1 pick in last year's NBA Draft.

Alumni Bradley Beal (Florida), Jared Sullinger (Ohio State), Terrence Jones (Kentucky), Austin Rivers (Duke) and Harrison Barnes (North Carolina) are expected to be high picks in this year's NBA Draft.

Ronnie Flores is a senior editor for ESPNHS. He can be reached at ronnie.flores@espn.com. Don't forget to follow him on Twitter: @RonFloresESPN