Numbers Game: St. Thomas Aquinas hosts De La Salle on ESPN2

The Spartans of De La Salle (Concord, Calif.) have won the last two CIF Open Division titles. Mark J. Terrill/AP

This Friday night at 7 p.m. ET in a game that will air live on ESPN2, the Raiders of St. Thomas Aquinas (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) host the Spartans of De La Salle (Concord, Calif.).

St. Thomas Aquinas is ranked as the No. 2 team in the POWERADE FAB 50 while De La Salle is the top Western power in the country and the No. 3 overall team in our national rankings. Before these two powers battle for state pride and bragging rights on national television, we decided to delve into the numbers that help define these proud programs to help get you ready for the Friday night showdown.

De La Salle By The Numbers

2 Division I commits on this year’s team and those who signed last year. The two signers from the 2010 squad were defensive tackle Dylan Wynn with Oregon State and linebacker Blake Renaud with Boise State. This year’s commits are quarterback Bart Houston with Wisconsin and linebacker Michael Barton with Cal.

5 Years in which De La Salle has appeared in the CIF state bowl games. The event has only been held for five years and the Spartans have won three titles, including the last two in the Open Division.

7 POWERADE FAB 50 national championships (more than any other school). Years the Spartans were No. 1 were 1992, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003.

19 Consecutive CIF North Coast Section titles. Since 1982, the only seasons in which the Spartans and coach Bob Ladoucuer did not win an NCS title were 1987 and 1991.

42 Distance between the longest win streak in U.S. history, which is 151 games (held by De La Salle from 1992 to 2004) and the second-longest, which is 109 (held by Independence of Charlotte, N.C.).

83 Length of team’s current league winning streak, which began in 1989. It is an ongoing state record.

St. Thomas Aquinas By The Numbers

2 Number of POWERADE FAB 50 National championships. The Raiders captured the 2008 and 2010 crowns. If they can take care of De La Salle (Concord, Calif.) on Friday and No. 1 Don Bosco Prep loses along the way then it’s possible for them to go back-to-back. Since 1980 only three teams have repeated as champions, Hampton (Hampton, Va.), De La Salle (Concord, Calif.), and Southlake Carroll (Southlake, Texas).

6 State championships. Athletic Director and former head coach George Smith is the only coach to win a state title at St. Thomas. Smith won his first state championship in 1992. The Raiders also won state rings in 1997, 1999, 2007, 2008, and 2010.

13 Number of state championship appearances. The Raiders are 6-7 all-time in state championship games.

27 District dominance. St. Thomas has won 27 district championships.

20 Consecutive playoff appearances. The last time the Raiders missed the playoffs was 1990.

96 Playoff games. The program has a 73-23-playoff tournament record.

17 Game winning streak dating back to their 15-0 season last year and 2-0 mark this season.

7 Number of BCS recruits from the 2010 national championship team. QB Jake Rudock (Iowa), WR Rashad Greene (Florida State), WR Phillip Dorsett (Miami-FL), OL Bobby Hart (Florida State), DB Marcus Roberson (Florida), OL Austin Barron (Florida State), and P Justin DuVernois (Illinois)

Prominent Alumni: Michael Irvin, former Dallas Cowboys WR and Pro Football Hall of Famer, Brian Piccolo, former Chicago Bears RB, Geno Atkins, current Cincinnati Bengals DL, Sam Young, current Buffalo Bills OL, Major Wright, current Chicago Bears DB, Leonard Hankerson, current Washington Redskins WR, and tennis great Chris Everet, winner of eighteen Grand Slam titles.

Fun Fact: The boy’s track team and girl’s soccer team won 2011 POWERADE FAB 50 National championships in their respective sports.