Trophy time for Wheaton Warrenville South

By Kirstin Olsen

WHEATON, Ill. -- The Wheaton Warrenville South boys’ volleyball team, which finished the season with a 42-0 record and the school’s seventh state championship, was honored on Friday as the POWERADE FAB 50 national champions.

Parents, coaches and fans were present at an assembly at the Wheaton Warrenville South gym. The team was led onto the court by a drum line, and principal Dave Claypool spoke to the group and introduced coach Bill Schreier and WWS alums Matt McCarthy (Ball State) and Doug Burchett (Illinois), who also won state championships.

“This has to be considered an incredible honor to cap an incredible season. We have had two previous teams go undefeated. The 2001 team with Sean Rooney went 38-0 and the 2004 team went 41-0 led by Matt McCarthy,” coach Bill Schreier said. “Every trek has its bumps and bruises along the way, and this was no different.

“I do know that I have never had a team as focused and committed as this team. This national championship is a culmination of all of the work that has been put in over the last two seasons. Memories last a lifetime, and this is something that will never be forgotten. To go 84-2 in sets throughout the season is a remarkable accomplishment and cap to a great senior group.”

Senior co-captain Thomas Jaeschke, a 6-foot-6 outside hitter and Loyola recruit, was selected Chicago Area Player of the Year. Senior co-captain Matt Callaway, a 6-8 middle hitter and Penn State recruit, also was a first-team All-Chicago Area honoree. Both were first-team AVCA All Americans.

Wheaton Warrenville South is the first boys’ volleyball team from Illinois to win the national championship.