Jeff Saturday to be inducted in Colts' Ring of Honor

INDIANAPOLIS -- Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison, Edgerrin James and others are about to have some more company in the Indianapolis Colts' Ring of Honor.

Former Colts center Jeff Saturday will be inducted into the team’s Ring of Honor during a halftime ceremony of their Sept. 21 game against the New York Jets.

"I am very honored and excited," Saturday said in a statement released by the Colts. "When you start playing this game, you never really envision this occurring in your career. I tell people all the time that my career was much better than I deserved. That’s really the way I feel about it. This is just another thing to add to it. I’ve been so blessed to be an Indianapolis Colt. To be there as long as I was and for as successful as it was, not only personally, but for the teams that I had the chance to play for, all the men that I got to suit up beside and run out on the field with, I can’t say enough good things. I’m just humbled by it and really excited about it."

Saturday, who spent 13 seasons with the franchise, was named to five Pro Bowls with the Colts and is third in team history in wins with 132. Saturday was part of an offensive line that finished first in the NFL in fewest sacks allowed seven times.

"Jeff represented both the organization and the City of Indianapolis with a tremendous amount of class for 13 seasons," Colts owner Jim Irsay said in a statement. "The passion for which he played the game was infectious and he quickly developed into one of this game’s great leaders. His performance on the field matched his dedication and service to the community. Jeff is extremely deserving of this honor and I’m thrilled to add his name with the others who have represented the Horseshoe in extraordinary fashion."

Saturday, an NFL analyst for ESPN, will be the 12th member inducted to the Colts Ring of Honor. He will join Robert Irsay (1996), Bill Brooks (1998), Ted Marchibroda (2000), Chris Hinton (2001), Jim Harbaugh (2005), 12th Man (2007), Dungy (2010), Harrison (2011), James (2012), Eric Dickerson (2013) and Marshall Faulk (2013).