Indianapolis Colts keep four quarterbacks after trimming roster

The Indianapolis Colts made 37 moves to trim their roster to the NFL-mandated 53 players. Here's a closer look at the final moves:

Most significant move: The biggest and most important move everybody has been waiting on finally happened, with the Colts elevating quarterback Andrew Luck off the physically unable to perform list. The next step for Luck, who had right shoulder surgery in January, is practicing. Another point with Luck coming off PUP is that the Colts now have four quarterbacks on the active roster after the addition of Jacoby Bissett via trade with New England on Saturday, to go with Scott Tolzien and Stephen Morris. It wouldn't be surprising if the Colts trim that number down to three in the coming days. If that does happen, they're expected to keep three quarterbacks on the active roster because there's no timetable for when Luck will make his regular-season debut.

Parry let go: David Parry went from starting all 32 games in his first two seasons to being arrested last winter to being released Saturday. Parry faced an uphill battle to make the roster after the additions of Johnathan Hankins and Al Woods during the spring to go with already having a strike against him for being arrested and charged with public intoxication and using expletives and derogatory words toward police in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Fumbled it away: Receiver JoJo Natson was in position to be one of the five receivers to make the roster until he dropped the ball. The 5-foot-7 Natson hurt his chance to beat out Quan Bray when he fumbled three times in the preseason finale against the Bengals. The Colts recovered all three fumbles, but Natson putting the ball on the ground showed that there was no guarantee that they could count on him, especially in the return game.

Colts' moves:

Waived (26): CB Dant√© Blackmon, DT Josh Boyd, WR Marvin Bracy, WR Fred Brown, OL Fahn Cooper, S Tyson Graham Jr., S Lee Hightower, WR Bug Howard, TE Henry Krieger-Coble, WR Justice Liggins, RB De’Mard Llorens, DT T.Y. McGill, WR JoJo Natson, DL David Parry, RB Troymaine Pope, OL Adam Redmond, WR Brian Riley, LB Darnell Sankey, WR Valdez Showers, LB Garrett Sickels, DL Jhaustin Thomas, OL Arturo Uzdavinis, OL Terran Vaughn, QB Phillip Walker, S Andrew Williamson, OL Andrew Wylie

Released (5): LB Akeem Ayers, LB Lavar Edwards, RB Daryl Richardson, LB Sean Spence, CB Corey White,

Waived/injured (2): RB Josh Ferguson, S Tyvis Powell

Physically unable to perform list (1): S Clayton Geathers

Injured reserve list (3): CB Chris Culliver, LB Edwin Jackson, S Earl Wolff IV