Jacksonville Jaguars cut 18 players, including RB Storm Johnson

Storm Johnson, a seventh-round pick in 2014, was released by the Jaguars on Friday. David Manning/USA TODAY Sports

Most significant move: A pair of undrafted free agents from Auburn have apparently made the roster. Cornerback Nick Marshall, who was a cornerback at Georgia before being dismissed from the team and becoming a quarterback with Garden City Community College and the Tigers, made the team over several more experienced cornerbacks. Running back Corey Grant also made the team mainly as a kick returner, but his performance in the final preseason game (74 yards and one TD on five carries) certainly helped his case. The word "apparently" is important because the Jaguars' roster is at 57, so more moves have to be made.

Bye-bye draft picks: Until Friday, the Jaguars had all but one of general manager David Caldwell’s draft picks on the roster (wide receiver Ace Sanders was waived before camp began). Four were cut Friday: Cornerback Jeremy Harris (seventh, 2013), running back Storm Johnson (seventh, 2014), WR Neal Sterling (seventh, 2015) and TE Ben Koyack (seventh, 2015). That’s an indication that the talent on the roster is improving. It’s generally not a good thing to have sixth- and seventh-round picks make the roster every year because that means there’s a dearth of talent.

What’s next: The Jaguars have four roster moves remaining to get to the 53-man limit by 4 p.m. ET Saturday. The injury situation figures heavily into what could happen. Some possibilities: DT Sen’Derrick Marks (knee) could be placed on PUP. DE Andre Branch (knee) could be placed on IR/designated to return or IR. The Jaguars also have to decide what to do with special teams standout LaRoy Reynolds (knee), DT Ziggy Hood (foot), and S Craig Loston (ankle). Right now the Jaguars have seven linebackers and six safeties still on the roster.

Jaguars cuts: DT Richard Ash, DE Camaron Beard, DE Cap Capi, WR Kasey Closs, OG Will Corbin, TE Connor Hamlett, CB Jeremy Harris, DE Ike Igbinosun, RB Storm Johnson, TE Ben Koyack, WR Erik Lora, QB Stephen Morris, G Chris Reed, CB Rashaad Reynolds, WR Neal Sterling, LB Todd Thomas, CB Peyton Thompson, WR Tony Washington.