Adding a receiver, subtracting a lineman in latest Chiefs' roster projection

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- I’ve made some changes in my projections for the Kansas City Chiefs' regular-season roster. I’ve added a seventh wide receiver (I can no longer deny Fred Williams a spot) and subtracted an offensive lineman:

Quarterback (3): Alex Smith, Chase Daniel, Aaron Murray. Though the Chiefs are set here, it will be interesting to see if they make a play for Robert Griffin III.

Running back (4): Jamaal Charles, Anthony Sherman, Knile Davis, Charcandrick West. Released: Darrin Reaves, Spencer Ware. West played well enough in preseason to win a roster spot. But he has a concussion and the Chiefs could make a change if they believe it’s a long-term injury.

Wide receiver (7): Jeremy Maclin, Albert Wilson, Jason Avant, De'Anthony Thomas, Chris Conley, Frankie Hammond, Williams. Released: Da'Ron Brown, Donatella Luckett. The Chiefs might need seven receivers to begin the season. Wilson, Avant and Thomas are ailing.

Tight end (3): Travis Kelce, James O'Shaughnessy, Demetrius Harris. Released: Richard Gordon, Ryan Taylor. The Chiefs could keep Taylor or bring in another tight end depending on the readiness of Harris at the start of the season. He only recently resumed practice after breaking his foot in November.

Offensive line: (8): Eric Fisher, Ben Grubbs, Mitch Morse, Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, Paul Fanaika, Jeff Allen, Donald Stephenson, Zach Fulton. Released: Eric Kush, Garrett Frye, Daniel Munyer, Jarrod Pughsley, Derek Sherrod. I’m dropping Kush, who began camp as the starting center. He won’t be the starter and otherwise appears to have fallen from favor. Fulton will play some at center against the Rams on Thursday night. If he plays well, he could win that No. 2 job.

Defensive line (5): Allen Bailey, Jaye Howard, Mike DeVito, Mike Catapano, Nick Williams. Released or injured list: Dontari Poe, David Irving, Hebron Fangupo, Rakeem Nunez-Roches. Though there appears to be little chance Poe is ready for the start of the season, the Chiefs might want to keep him on the roster if he would return shortly afterward.

Linebacker (9): Justin Houston, Tamba Hali, Derrick Johnson, Josh Mauga, Dee Ford, Dezman Moses, Josh Martin, Ramik Wilson, Frank Zombo. Released or injured list: D.J. Alexander, Ja'Gared Davis, James-Michael Johnson. The Chiefs will go heavy at a position where they have some depth.

Defensive back (11): Ron Parker, Husain Abdullah, Marcus Peters, Phillip Gaines, Eric Berry, Tyvon Branch, Kelcie McCray, Daniel Sorensen, Jamell Fleming, Steven Nelson, Marcus Cooper. Suspended: Sean Smith. Released: Sanders Commings, Deji Olatoye, Kevin Short. Smith’s suspension likely means the Chiefs will keep five cornerbacks on the active roster.

Specialists (3): Dustin Colquitt, Cairo Santos, James Winchester. The Chiefs have made their decisions here.