LOCALS: CSUN, UCLA stars win W-League honors

Cal State Northridge's Cynthia Jacobo established herself as one of the USL W-League's premier netminders this season. UCLA's Sydney Leroux already is a figure in international soccer. Both were honored at the league's championship banquet Thursday night in Seattle.

Jacobo (Arleta/Granada Hills HS), a junior at CSUN, was voted the national amateur/semipro women's league's Goalkeeper of the Year after playing a huge role in Santa Clarita Blue Heat's run to the Western Conference regular-season title.

Leroux, a Bruins senior on the cusp of the U.S. national team after starring for the Yanks' U-20s (and, before that, Canada's youth national teams), was a surprise winner as Rookie of the Year after scoring 11 goals for the Vancouver Whitecaps heading into Friday's semifinals. It was assumed that Colorado Rush teen Lindsay Horan, an MVP finalist, would capture the honor. Jacobo also was a Rookie of the Year finalist.

The other local finalists -- Blue Heat forward Edite Fernandes (MVP) and head coach Fabian Sandoval (Coach of the Year) and Pali Blues defender Sasha Andrews (Defender of the Year) -- did not win.

The full list of award recipients:

MVP: Mallory Outerbridge (Ottawa Fury)

Rookie of the Year: Sydney Leroux (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Defender of the Year: Amanda Fancher (Ottawa Fury)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Cynthia Jacobo (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)

Coach of the Year: Dominic Oliveri (Ottawa Fury)