Coaches name Baylor's Briles best for offense

Baylor’s Art Briles was the overwhelming choice as the nation’s best offensive head coach in ESPN’s weekly college football poll of the FBS head coaches.

The voting was as lopsided as a Baylor game this season, with Briles receiving 43 percent of the votes. Ohio State’s Urban Meyer (7 percent) was a distant second.

Arizona’s Rich Rodriguez, Washington State’s Mike Leach and Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh finished in a tie for third, earn receiving 4 percent.

Eight coaches tied for fifth place (each with 3 percent): Duke’s David Cutcliffe, Ole Miss’ Hugh Freeze, Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly, Houston’s Tom Herman, Southern Miss’ Todd Monken, TCU’s Gary Patterson, Louisville’s Bobby Petrino and Stanford’s David Shaw.

In all, 27 coaches received votes.

Briles’ margin with coaches from the Power 5 conferences (ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, SEC, Pac-12 and Notre Dame) wasn’t quite as large as the overall vote. He received 42 percent, followed by Meyer (14 percent). Rodriguez and Leach tied for third (8 percent) with Harbaugh fifth at 5 percent.

More than half of the coaches from the Group of 5 conferences (American, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West, Sun Belt, Army and BYU) chose Briles. From the Group of 5 coaches, Briles received 52 percent of the votes. Meyer, Patterson, Freeze and Herman all tied for second (each with 5 percent).

Of the 128 FBS coaches, 97 participated in this week’s poll.

Overall poll results

Art Briles, Baylor 43 percent

Urban Meyer, Ohio State 7 percent

Rich Rodriguez, Arizona 4 percent

Mike Leach, Washington State 4 percent

Jim Harbaugh, Michigan 4 percent

David Cutcliffe, Duke 3 percent

Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss 3 percent

Brian Kelly, Notre Dame 3 percent

Tom Herman, Houston 3 percent

Todd Monken, Southern Miss 3 percent

Gary Patterson, TCU 3 percent

Bobby Petrino, Louisville 3 percent

David Shaw, Stanford 3 percent

Coaches who received 1 percent: Dino Babers, Bowling Green; Justin Fuente, Memphis; Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech; Gus Malzahn, Auburn; Chad Morris, SMU; Dan Mullen, Mississippi State; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; Chris Petersen, Washington; Mark Richt, Georgia; Mike Riley, Nebraska; Steve Sarkisian, USC; Bill Snyder, Kansas State; Steve Spurrier, South Carolina; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M.

How the Power 5 coaches voted:

Art Briles, Baylor 42 percent

Urban Meyer, Ohio State 14 percent

Rich Rodriguez, Arizona 8 percent

Mike Leach, Washington State 8 percent

Jim Harbaugh, Michigan 5 percent

How the Group of 5 coaches voted:

Art Briles, Baylor 52 percent

Urban Meyer, Ohio State 5 percent

Gary Patterson, TCU 5 percent

Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss 5 percent

Tom Herman, Houston 5 percent