Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announces launch of Polynesian Bowl

Marcus Mariota, a former Polynesian player of the year winner, will be one of the team captains for the Polynesian Bowl. Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

A new high school football all-star game is coming in 2017, as the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced Friday the establishment of the Polynesian Bowl, which will feature the world’s top players of Polynesian heritage and other ancestries.

The game will take place Saturday, Jan. 21, 2017 at 6 p.m. HST at Aloha Stadium in O'ahu, Hawaii. Past Polynesian player of the year winners and current NFL starters Marcus Mariota and Ronnie Stanley will be team captains, selecting their rosters at a Draft Luau.

Polynesian Football Hall of Fame inaugural inductees Jack “The Throwin’ Samoan” Thompson and Olin Kreutz will serve as honorary head coaches for Team Mariota and Team Stanley, respectively.

“Honoring my heritage is very important to me,” Mariota said in a release. “I look forward to working with the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame to make this the best high school all-star game in the country. This will give our Polynesian players opportunities and exposure that is much needed. Team Mariota is ready to go.”

There will be 84 nationally ranked players in the game, 30 of whom have already committed to play, including ESPN300 quarterback and Alabama commit Tua Tagovailoa (Honolulu, Hawaii/Saint Louis School).

Hawaii News Now will air the game locally, with a major announcement on a national broadcast partner forthcoming.

“I’m very excited to be Team Captain for the inaugural Polynesian Bowl,” Stanley said in a release. “It is a great opportunity for me to support my culture and our young talented Polynesian football players. I’m looking forward to Team Stanley going out there and getting the win. Ofa Atu!”