TCU dominates all-MWC team

The Mountain West Conference released its all-conference football team and TCU won all but one of the major honors.

Junior quarterback Andy Dalton won offensive player of the year, defensive end Jerry Hughes won defensive player of the year, Jeremy Kerley was named the special teams player of the year and Gary Patterson was named the coach of the year.

Wyoming quarterback Austyn Carta-Samuels was named the league’s freshman of the year.

Overall, TCU led the conference with nine players selected to the first team. Utah was second with six selections, including running back Eddie Wide, who replaced Matt Asiata midseason. BYU had four players named.

UNLV senior receiver Ryan Wolfe, BYU senior tight end Dennis Pitta and BYU senior defensive end Jan Jorgensen were named first-team honorees for the third time in their respective careers.