Moore, Kaepernick top All-WAC team

Nevada quarterback Colin Kaepernick and Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore were selected WAC Co-Offensive Players of the year, the league announced Monday.

Fresno State defensive end Chris Carter earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, and San Jose State linebacker Keith Smith was named the Freshman of the Year. Nevada coach Chris Ault was voted the WAC’s Coach of the Year.

Boise State led the league with 11 first-team all-WAC honorees, while Fresno State and Nevada each placed five on the first team and Hawaii had three.

Moore is second in the nation in passing efficiency with a 185.04 rating. He has completed 245-of-345 passes for 3,506 yards and 33 touchdowns with just five interceptions in leading the Broncos to an 11-1 record and berth in the MAACO Bowl Las Vegas on Dec. 22. As a starter, Moore is now 37-2 in three seasons. He was named the WAC’s Freshman of the Year in 2008 and was the WAC Offensive Player of the Year last season.

Kaepernick is second in the WAC in total offense with 308.8 yards per game. He became the third quarterback in NCAA history to pass for 20 touchdowns and rush for 20 touchdowns in a season. He has thrown for 2,830 yards and 20 touchdowns and rushed for 1,184 yards, and he's the first player in NCAA history to pass for more than 2,000 yards and run for 1,000 yards in three consecutive seasons. He was the WAC’s Freshman of the Year in 2007 and WAC Offensive Player of the Year in 2008.

Carter leads the WAC and is seventh in the nation in sacks with 11 and is tied for second in the WAC in tackles for loss with 16.5. Smith led San Jose State and is third in the WAC in tackles with 8.9 per game. He has a total of 116 tackles (60 solo). This is San Jose State’s first WAC Freshman of the Year award.

Ault earned his second WAC Coach of the Year award after leading Nevada to a 12-1 record and a share of its second WAC title. Ault, a member of the College Football Hall of Fame, is in his third stint with the Wolf Pack and has a record of 218-97-1 (.691) in 26 seasons. Nevada is heading to the Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl on Jan. 9, its sixth consecutive bowl game.

Here are the complete first and second teams:

First-team Offense

WR- Austin Pettis, Boise State

WR- Titus Young, Boise State

WR- Greg Salas, Hawaii

TE- Virgil Green, Nevada

OL- Thomas Byrd, Boise State

OL- Nate Potter, Boise State

OL- Kenny Wiggins, Fresno State

OL- Rob McGill, Louisiana Tech

OL- John Bender, Nevada

QB- Kellen Moore, Boise State

QB- Colin Kaepernick, Nevada

RB- Doug Martin, Boise State

RB- Vai Taua, Nevada

First-team Defense

DL- Shea McClellin, Boise State

DL- Ryan Winterswyk, Boise State

DL- Chris Carter, Fresno State

DL- Logan Harrell, Fresno State

DL- Dontay Moch, Nevada

LB- Winston Venable, Boise State

LB- Ben Jacobs, Fresno State

LB- Corey Paredes, Hawaii

LB- Bobby Wagner, Utah State

DB- George Iloka, Boise State

DB- Jeron Johnson, Boise State

DB- Mana Silva, Hawaii

DB- Davon House, New Mexico State

First-team Specialists

PK- Kevin Goessling, Fresno State

P- Bobby Cowan, Idaho

ST- Phillip Livas, Louisiana Tech

Second-team Offense

WR- Jamel Hamler, Fresno State

WR- Kealoha Pilares, Hawaii

WR- Eric Greenwood, Idaho

WR- Rishard Matthews, Nevada

TE- Daniel Hardy, Idaho

OL- Bryce Harris, Fresno State

OL- Lupepa Letuli, Hawaii

OL- Adrian Thomas, Hawaii

OL- Chris Barker, Nevada

OL- Ailao Eliapo, San Jose State

QB- Bryant Moniz, Hawaii

RB- Alex Green, Hawaii

RB- Lennon Creer, Louisiana Tech

Second-team Defense

DL- Billy Winn, Boise State

DL- Kaniela Tuipulotu, Hawaii

DL- Aaron Lavarias, Idaho

DL- Matt Broha, Louisiana Tech

LB- Byron Hout, Boise State

LB- Travis Brown, Fresno State

LB- Adrien Cole, Louisiana Tech

LB- James-Michael Johnson, Nevada

LB- Keith Smith, San Jose State

DB- Brandyn Thompson, Boise State

DB- Desia Dunn, Fresno State

DB- Shiloh Keo, Idaho

DB- Isaiah Frey, Nevada

DB- Curtis Marsh, Utah State

Second-team Specialists

PK- Scott Enos, Hawaii

P- Harrison Waid, San Jose State

ST- Taveon Rogers, New Mexico State