T.Y. Hilton headlines All-Sun Belt awards

FIU all-purpose threat T.Y. Hilton was honored as the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year, while Western Kentucky running back Bobby Rainey was named Offensive Player of the Year, Middle Tennessee defensive end Jamari Lattimore was Defensive Player of the Year and FIU coach Mario Cristobal won Coach of the Year, the league announced Wednesday.

Hilton led the Panthers with 56 catches for 816 yards and four touchdowns, and also ran for 291 yards and four scores, and had 785 yards and a score on kickoff and punt returns. He was also selected to the first team at receiver and return specialist, and second team all-purpose player.

Rainey averaged over 130 yards rushing a game and his total of 1,649 rushing yards ranks second in the nation only behind Heisman Trophy finalist LaMichael James from Oregon.

Lattimore ranks sixth nationally in total sacks with 11.5. Cristobal, in his fourth season as coach, has helped turn around the FIU program into a conference co-champion.

Troy quarterback Corey Robinson was also named Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year. Robinson led the league in passing yards this season and is currently ranked 12th nationally in that category.

Here are the first and second teams, and honorable mentions.

First Team Offense

QB -- Ryan Aplin, So., Arkansas State

RB -- Lance Dunbar, Jr., North Texas

RB -- Bobby Rainey, Jr., Western Kentucky

WR -- T.Y. Hilton, Jr., FIU

WR -- Jerrel Jernigan Sr., Troy

TE -- Ladarius Green, Jr., Louisiana

OL -- Brad Serini, Sr., FIU

OL -- Tyler Clark, Sr., Troy

OL -- Victor Gill, Sr., North Texas

OL -- Derek Newton, Sr., Arkansas State

OL -- Esteban Santiago, Sr., North Texas

First Team Defense

DL -- Bryan Hall, Sr., Arkansas State

DL -- Jamari Lattimore, Sr., Middle Tennessee

DL -- Jonathan Massaquoi, So., Troy

DL -- Jarvis Wilson, Sr., FIU

LB -- Demario Davis, Jr., Arkansas State

LB -- Toronto Smith, Sr., FIU

LB -- Craig Robertson, Sr., North Texas

DB -- M.D. Jennings, Sr., Arkansas State

DB -- Anthony Gaitor, Sr., FIU

DB -- Rod Issac, Sr., Middle Tennessee

DB -- Jeremy Kellem, Sr., Middle Tennessee

First-Team Special Teams

K -- Alan Gendreau, Jr., Middle Tennessee

P -- Mickey Groody, Jr., Florida Atlantic

RS -- T.Y. Hilton, Jr., FIU

AP -- Jerrel Jernigan, Sr., Troy

Second Team Offense

QB -- Corey Robinson, Fr., Troy

RB -- Phillip Tanner, Sr., Middle Tennessee

RB -- Darriet Perry, Jr., FIU

WR -- Lester Jean, Sr, FAU

WR -- Luther Ambrose, Jr., ULM

TE -- Rob Housler, Sr., FAU

OL -- Tom Castilaw, Sr., Arkansas State

OL -- Sifa Etu, Sr., Arkansas State

OL -- Ian Burks, Sr., Louisiana

OL -- Mark Fisher, Sr., Middle Tennessee

OL -- James Brown, Jr., Troy

Second-team Defense

DL -- Dorvus Woods, Jr., Arkansas State

DL -- Tourek Williams, So., FIU

DL -- Ken Dorsey, Jr., ULM

DL -- Mario Addison, Sr., Troy

LB -- Javon McKinnon, Sr., Arkansas State

LB -- Michael Lockley, Sr., FAU

LB -- Thomas Majors, Sr., Western Kentucky

DB -- Marcus Bartels, Jr., FAU

DB -- Tavious Polo, Sr., FAU

DB -- Jonathan Cyprien, So., FIU

DB -- Darius Prelow, Jr., ULM

Special Teams

K -- Zach Olen, Fr., North Texas

P -- Josh Davis, Fr., Middle Tennessee

RS -- Jerrel Jernigan, Sr., Troy

AP -- T.Y. Hilton Jr., FIU

Honorable Mention

Dwayne Frampton (Arkansas State, Jr., WR); Allen Muse (Arkansas State, So., WR); Tarvoris Hill (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., DB); Jeff Van Camp (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., QB); Greg Ellingson (FIU, Sr., WR); Winston Fraser (FIU, R-So., LB); Orkeys Auriene (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., DB); Spencer Ortego (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., P); Kolton Browning (ULM, R-Fr., QB); Cameron Blakes (ULM, So., LB); Eric Russel (Middle Tennessee, Junior, RS); Dwight Smith (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL); Brelan Chancellor (North Texas, Fr. RS); Will Goggans (Troy, Jr., P); Michael Taylor (Troy, Jr., K); Orlando Misaalefua (WKU, Sr., LB); Mychal Patterson (WKU, Sr., OL)