Dykes named WAC Coach of the Year

Louisiana Tech coach Sonny Dykes was selected WAC Coach of the Year, and the Bulldogs led the league with seven first-team selections, the conference announced Monday.

Utah State running back Robert Turbin was selected Offensive Player of the Year, Louisiana Tech linebacker Adrien Cole earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, and Nevada quarterback Cody Fajardo was selected the Freshman of the Year.

Dykes earned his first WAC Coach of the Year award in just his second season as a head coach after leading Louisiana Tech to an 8-4 record and its second WAC title with a 6-1 mark. Louisiana Tech is playing in its first bowl game since 2008 and won its first WAC title since 2001.

Turbin ranks 10th in the nation in rushing with 118 yards per game and is fifth in scoring with 11.5 points per contest. Turbin has rushed for 1,416 yards and 19 touchdowns to help the Aggies make first bowl appearance since 1997. He also is the first Utah State player to win WAC Offensive Player of the Year honors.

Cole has 121 tackles this season, including 13 for a loss. He also has two sacks, one interception, a forced fumble, a fumble recovery and three blocked kicks on the season. Cole is the first player from Louisiana Tech to win WAC Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Fajardo became the starting quarterback for the Wolf Pack in October and has thrown for 1,647 yards and six touchdowns while rushing for 680 yards and 11 more scores in nine games played. He is second in the WAC in passing efficiency with a 145.8 rating and is seventh in the WAC in rushing with 75.6 yards per contest. After a 1-3 start, Fajardo helped the Wolf Pack to a five-game winning streak that allowed them to make their seventh straight bowl appearance.

Here is the WAC first-team:


WR Jalen Saunders, Fresno State

WR Rishard Matthews, Nevada

WR Quinton Patton, Louisiana Tech

TE Ryan Otten, San Jose State

OL Bryce Harris, Fresno State

OL Stephen Warner, Louisiana Tech

OL Kris Cavitt, Louisiana Tech

OL Chris Barker, Nevada

OL Tyler Larsen, Utah State

OL Philip Gapelu, Utah State

QB Bryant Moniz, Hawaii

RB Robbie Rouse, Fresno State

RB Robert Turbin, Utah State


DL Logan Harrell, Fresno State

DL Matt Broha, Louisiana Tech

DL Brett Roy, Nevada

DL Travis Johnson, San Jose State

LB Travis Brown, Fresno State

LB Aaron Brown, Hawaii

LB Adrien Cole, Louisiana Tech

LB Bobby Wagner, Utah State

DB Terry Carter, Louisiana Tech

DB Isaiah Frey, Nevada

DB Donyae Coleman, New Mexico State

DB Duke Ihenacho, San Jose State


PK Kevin Goessling, Fresno State

P Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

ST Taveon Rogers, New Mexico State