3-point stance: Peach back in style

1. The Chick-fil-A Bowl reached back into its history to change its name to the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, and they didn’t do it out of fond memories for Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium. The College Football Playoff, looking for consistency, didn’t want any of the six bowls sharing the semifinals to have only a sponsor’s name. Sponsors aren’t forever. But the Rose, Sugar, Fiesta, Orange, and Cotton are. And now, back from the history books, so is the Peach.

2. Next time you think about parity in college football, think about this: Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU and Tennessee – six of 14 SEC members – have won the last 37 league championships. Kentucky shared the 1976 championship with Georgia. Before that, you have to go back to 1963, when Ole Miss won and 200-pound linemen roamed the earth. Not to mention that none of the four SEC expansion teams (Arkansas and South Carolina, 1992; Missouri and Texas A&M, 2012) has won the league.

3. I’m just not going to get excited about the fact that next season there will be 40 bowls. You can be outraged all you want that college football is choosing to accelerate its rewards for mediocrity. I feel like the marketplace will decide, and until it does, I’m not going to complain about having more games available to watch in late December and early January. I look at it as easing my transition into winter.