Tyson named to all-defensive second team

AP Photo/Lynne Sladky

Seriously? Tyson Chandler, Defensive Player of the Year, didn't make the all-defensive first team.Tyson Chandler was named Defensive Player of the Year this season.

But he wasn't good enough to make the NBA's all-defensive first team.

The NBA announced on Wednesday that Chandler was voted to the all-defensive second team.

Oklahoma City's Serge Ibaka was the forward on the first team. Dwight Howard was the center.

Some felt Ibaka, based on his outsized statistics (3.65 blocks per game) deserved to win Defensive Player of the Year.

But Chandler won the award, based largely on his impact this year on the defensively-challenged Knicks.

In 2010-2011, the Knicks finished 21st in defensive efficiency, a measure of opponents' points scored per 100 possessions. This season, in Chandler's first with the team, New York finished fifth in defensive efficiency.

But why would Chandler win Defensive Player of the Year and not be named to the first team all-defense?

A select group of media votes on the Defensive Player of the Year. The NBA's all-defensive teams are voted on by NBA coaches.

Chandler wasn't the first Defensive Player of the Year to be named to the second all-defensive team.

Alvin Robertson (1986) and Dikembe Mutombo (1995) were also defensive players of the year on the second all-defensive team.

SHUMP GETS VOTES: Knicks guard Iman Shumpert established himself as one of the league's top perimeter defenders in his rookie season.

Along the way, he apparently impressed a few NBA head coaches.

Shumpert garnered four first-team votes and five second-team votes, for a total of 13 points. He was four points, or two first-place votes, shy of making the second team all-defense.

You can follow Ian Begley on Twitter.

Information from ESPNNewYork's Jared Zwerling was used in this report.