Chandler named to All-Defensive First Team

Knicks center Tyson Chandler was named to the All-Defensive First Team, the NBA announced Monday. He's the first Knicks player to earn first-team honors since Charles Oakley in 1994.

Joining Chandler on the first team are Tony Allen (Grizzlies), Serge Ibaka (Thunder), LeBron James (Heat), Joakim Noah (Bulls) and Chris Paul (Clippers).

Chandler was the Defensive Player of the Year last season, but earned a spot on the All-Defensive Second Team. That's because a select group of media votes for the Defensive Player of the Year, but the 30 NBA head coaches vote for the all-defensive teams.

This season's All-Defensive Second Team consists of Paul George (Pacers), Avery Bradley (Celtics), Tim Duncan (Spurs), Mike Conley (Grizzlies) and Marc Gasol (Grizzlies).

Iman Shumpert was the only other Knick who received votes (one for the second team).

Against the Pacers in the playoffs, however, Shumpert and Chandler have gone in different directions defensively. While Shumpert's main assignment, Paul George, has committed 16 turnovers through three games, Chandler has been outplayed by Roy Hibbert.

The Pacers center has dominated the second-round series with his team up 2-1, averaging 14.7 points (on 52.9 percent shooting), 10.7 rebounds and three blocks per game.

"[Hibbert has] kind of had his way," Knicks coach Mike Woodson said after a Game 3 loss, "and that's got to change."

You can follow Jared Zwerling on Twitter.