<
>

Mets manager Terry Collins cries foul: Third-inning call 'cost us the game'

DENVER -- The New York Mets felt cheated Saturday night at Coors Field. And they were not reluctant to unload about a missed call after an eventual 7-4 loss to the Colorado Rockies.

With the bases loaded and one out in the third inning and the Mets trailing by two runs, Logan Verrett appeared to strike out No. 8 hitter Tony Wolters. However, plate umpire Carlos Torres ruled -- incorrectly, according to replays -- that Wolters had tipped the baseball. Mets manager Terry Collins was ejected during the ensuing argument. Three pitches later, Wolters delivered a two-run double. After Mets starter Verrett retired the opposing pitcher, Charlie Blackmon added a two-run single as the Rockies' lead swelled to 7-1.

Catcher Kevin Plawecki said Wolters told him point-blank before the at-bat's completion: "I didn't hit that ball."

"He didn't have to tell me," Plawecki added. "I already knew. I mean, everybody already knew. It's not like I'm telling everybody something that we all don't know -- or all didn't know at the time. Everybody knew it in the ballpark besides the guy standing behind me. He made the call. We've got to live with it."

Said Collins about his ensuing argument with Torres: "I said, 'Well, if the hitter fouls the ball off, he's going to point to the ground, or he's going to say something. He turned around and walked out.' [Torres] said, 'Well, I heard it.' I said, 'You couldn't have heard it, because he didn't foul it off.' ... It doesn't matter what I said. It doesn't matter what he heard. The call stood. You can't challenge it. It cost us the game. End of story."

Collins was still considerably upset postgame.

"It's unfair. There's no reason for it," Collins said. "... When you watch the hitter turn around and walk back to the dugout, you wouldn't come out? Seriously, is there anybody in this room who wouldn't come out?"

Plawecki said Torres never brought up the call during the remainder of the game.

"Our line of communication kind of stopped after that," Plawecki said.

Plawecki added about the call: "I was really shocked. Obviously it didn't touch his bat. It wasn't a foul ball. It's pretty clear to me. It's a pretty bold call by him, I would say. I mean, unless you were dead certain that he tipped the ball, I don't know how you call it in that situation -- a big out for us if we get him out. That's two outs there with the pitcher coming up, bases loaded. Instead, he gives him another chance, and he hits a double that scores two runs. And then two more runs end up scoring that inning. It was a big missed call on him. ... [Verrett] struck him out. It's two outs, pitcher coming up. You give him a free at-bat and another chance to swing and he hits a double. It's the way it went."

Said Verrett: "The umpire started waving his arms immediately. I was a little caught off guard and really didn't know what he saw. And then I quickly realized he was calling foul tip. I was really taken aback. I thought it was pretty obvious that Wolters was walking back to the dugout. He thought it was strike three as well. We're all human. We make mistakes. It was my job to pitch out of it and limit the damage, and I wasn't able to do that, which is unfortunate."