Ike finishes seventh in ROY balloting


Ike Davis finished seventh with two third-place votes.

Ike Davis received two third-place votes in NL Rookie of the Year balloting announced on Monday afternoon.

He became the first Met to appear on a ballot since Kazuo Matsui in 2004. By appearing third on two ballots and netting two points, he had the best finish by a Met since Jay Payton finished third with 37 points in 2000, according to ESPN Stats & Information.

Buster Posey won, being placed first on 20 of the 32 ballots. Jason Heyward received nine first-place votes and finished second. Gaby Sanchez (two) and Jaime Garcia (one) also received first-place votes.

Jon Niese and Hisanori Takahashi both were eligible from the Mets.

Davis finished with 19 homers, tied with Ron Swoboda for second on the franchise's all-time rookie list, trailing only Darryl Strawberry (26 in 1983). He also finished second on the franchise's all-time rookie RBI list with 71, tied with Ty Wigginton's 2003 production, and three shy of Strawberry's record. With 72 walks, Davis finished second among NL rookies and tied Lee Mazzilli's franchise rookie record, which Maz produced in 1977. Davis also was second on the franchise's rookie doubles list with 33, trailing only Wigginton (36).

Davis' two third-place votes came from USA Today's Paul White (Heyward-Posey-Davis) and Sports Nippon's Yuka Kobayashi (Posey-Heyward-Davis).