History of NFC South champs not pretty

We’ve talked many times through the years about how things rarely stay the same in the NFC South. No team has ever won the division in back-to-back years and the last-place team has won the division the following season in all but one year.

What traditionally happens to the defending champions? Well, the history there isn’t pretty. With some help from our friends at ESPN Stats & Information, here’s a history lesson as the Saints get ready to begin defending their NFC South crown tonight. In each year, we list the division champions, followed by their record and place in the division the following season.

  • 2009: Saints, ?

  • 2008: Panthers, 8-8 (3rd)

  • 2007: Buccaneers, 9-7 (3rd)

  • 2006: Saints, 7-9 (3rd)

  • 2005: Buccaneers, 4-12 (4th)

  • 2004: Falcons, 8-8 (3rd)

  • 2003: Panthers, 7-9 (3rd)

  • 2002: Buccaneers, 7-9 (3rd)