NFC South light on Dream Team

The voting for our Dream Team of Tomorrow has ended and the NFC South didn’t fare all that well.

Only three division players made the team, which consists of players who voters believe will be dominant at their positions from 2014 through 2016. All three players are from the New Orleans Saints.

Jahri Evans won the voting at one guard position. Garrett Hartley is the kicker and Thomas Morstead is the punter. That’s it, but I think there were some oversights. Carolina center Ryan Kalil finished fifth. He’s already one of the best centers in the game and should continue to get better.

I’m also a little disappointed, but not shocked, at how the voting went at quarterback. Aaron Rodgers won and that’s not surprising. He’s coming off a Super Bowl win and he plays for a Green Bay team that has a huge national fan base. But I find it a bit strange that Atlanta’s Matt Ryan finished third and Tampa Bay’s Josh Freeman was No. 5. Ryan finished a spot behind St. Louis’ Sam Bradford, who I think will be a good quarterback. But Ryan already is a good quarterback. Freeman finished one spot behind Andrew Luck, who is still in college. Luck may be the next great quarterback, but we don’t know anything for sure about how he’ll fare in the NFL. We’ve already got tangible evidence that Freeman is good.

On defense, the NFC South didn’t fare well at all. New Orleans safety Malcolm Jenkins and Carolina defensive end Charles Johnson each finished fourth at their positions. I could be wrong, but when we get to 2014, 2015 and 2016, I’ve got a hunch Jenkins and Johnson will be among the best at their positions.

By the way, I'll have an item Tuesday in which I'll write about the NFC South team I think will be dominant from 2014 through 2016.