MLB role models for Kaepernick, West

San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick's conversation with ESPN regarding the San Francisco Giants' recent success (see video above) highlights a striking disparity for NFC West teams and their baseball counterparts.

The Giants (2010, 2012), St. Louis Cardinals (2006, 2011) and Arizona Diamondbacks (2001) have combined to win five championships since any NFC West team won it all. The St. Louis Rams (1999 season) and San Francisco 49ers (1994) are the only NFC West teams to win Super Bowls in the past two decades.

So, while TV ratings and financial balance sheets reveal the NFL as king among the U.S. sporting consumer, teams around here have some catching up to do in their own markets.

Every NFC West team has played in a Super Bowl within the past 14 seasons. The 49ers (2012), Arizona Cardinals (2008) and Rams (2001) lost by a combined 10 points. The Seattle Seahawks lost, 21-10. The NFC West and AFC West are the only divisions without a Super Bowl winner since realignment in 2002.