Morning jam: Quick game facts

  • The Blackhawks win over the Coyotes was the first time in NHL playoff history that a team has scored the game-tying goal with 15 seconds or less left in regulation in consecutive games. The Blackhawks forced OT in Game 1 when Brent Seabrook scored a goal with 15 seconds left (Coyotes won game in OT).

  • Chris Neil scored the first overtime playoff goal of his NHL career to give the Senators a 3–2 win in Game 2 of their series against the Rangers. Neil scored his game-winning goal after taking part in a first-period fight against the Rangers’ Brian Boyle. He’s the first player to score an overtime goal and record a fighting major in an NHL playoff game since 1989 when Phil Bourque did that for the Penguins in Game 3 of a second-round series against the Flyers.

  • The Rangers' 3-2 loss to the Senators was their sixth consecutive defeat in a playoff overtime game, dating back to May 2007. It's the longest losing streak of its kind in Rangers history (they lost five straight playoff OT games from 1986 to 1991) and the longest current playoff overtime losing streak by any NHL team.

  • Brian Elliott and Jaroslav Halak combined for a shutout in the Blues' 3-0 victory over the Sharks. It was only the third time in NHL history that a postseason shutout was posted by teammates. Jacques Plante and Charlie Hodge did it for the Canadiens in 1955, as did Brian Boucher and Michael Leighton for the Flyers in 2010 (both against the Bruins).

  • Nicklas Backstrom scored 2:56 into the second overtime period to earn the Capitals a 2-1 victory at Boston and even their series at one win apiece. It was the second playoff overtime goal of Backstrom's NHL career; he scored an OT winner at Montreal in Game 2 of Washington's first-round series against the Canadiens in 2010. Backstrom's two playoff overtime goals tie a Capitals team record he now shares with Dino Ciccarelli and Joe Juneau.