Four Irish make AP All-America teams

The honors keep coming for Manti Te'o -- and he has three teammates to share the glory with this time, too.

Te'o was named an Associated Press first-team All-American on Tuesday, one year after the linebacker made the AP's second team.

Te'o is joined by teammates Tyler Eifert, Stephon Tuitt and Braxston Cave.

Eifert, the most prolific tight end in Notre Dame history, was named a second-team AP All-American for the second straight year, and Tuitt joined him at defensive end.

Cave rounded things out for the Irish as a third-team center.

Notre Dame's national title-game opponent, Alabama, landed six players across the three teams, most notably center Barrett Jones and guard Chance Warmack on the first-team offense and linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dee Milliner on the first-team defense.

Offensive tackle D.J. Fluker made the second team, while quarterback AJ McCarron was named a third-team All-American.

Not to take away from any of the players who were honored, but let's just say you'll have a hard time convincing me that there are six interior defensive linemen who had better seasons this fall than Irish noseguard Louis Nix.