USA Cycling announces long teams

On Thursday, USA Cycling announced the 30 athletes who are eligible to be nominated to represent the United States at the 2012 Olympic Games in mountain biking and women's road cycling.

"The hard work and determination of these athletes has helped USA Cycling advance its vision of making the U.S. the most successful country in the world of competitive cycling," USA Cycling's vice president of athletics Jim Miller said. "They are evidence of the United States' ability to be a legitimate medal contender across all four disciplines of competitive cycling in London. The athletes on this list have either proven their capabilities to win medals in major international events or illustrated the potential to do so in the future."

The long team rosters for men's and women's track cycling are set to be unveiled on Dec. 15. The long team for men's BMX will be announced on May 31, 2012, before the BMX Olympic Trials in Chula Vista, Calif., on June 16.

Women's Road Long Team

Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho/Team Exergy 2012)

Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Cedar Springs, Mich./Colavita-Forno d'Asolo)

Andrea Dvorak (Crozet, Va./Colavita-Forno d'Asolo)

Robin Farina (Charlotte, N.C./NOW and Novartis for MS)*

Megan Guarnier (Mountain View, Calif./Team TIBCO)*

Janel Holcomb (San Diego, Calif./Colavita-Forno d'Asolo)

Kristin McGrath (Durango, Colo./Team Exergy 2012)

Amanda Miller (Fort Collins, Colo./HTC-Highroad)

Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif./HTC-Highroad)*

Shelley Olds (Gilroy, Calif./ Diadora-Pasta Zara)

Carmen Small (Durango, Colo./Team TIBCO)

Evelyn Stevens (Dennis, Mass./HTC-Highroad)*

Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, N.C./Team Exergy 2012)

Men's Mountain Bike Long Team

Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va./Cannondale)*

Michael Broderick (Chilmark, Mass./Kenda-Seven-NoTubes)

Adam Craig (Bend, Ore./Rabobank-Giant)*

Stephen Ettinger (Cashmere, Wash./BMC)

Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)*

Spencer Paxson (Seattle, Wash./Kona)

Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont./Subaru-Trek)*

Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized)*

Women's Mountain Bike Long Team

Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Rabobank)*

Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt./Specialized)*

Judy Freeman (Brighton, Colo./Kenda-Felt)

Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo./Luna) *

Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)*

Mary McConneloug (Fairfax, Calif./Kenda-Seven-NoTubes)*

Krista Park (Madison, S.D./Cannondale-No Tubes)

Willow Rockwell (Durango, Colo./Trek World Racing)

Chloe Woodruff (Tucson, Ariz./BMC)

* - Automatic Nomination