Bednarik, Maxwell watch lists

The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) today announced the watch lists for the 74th annual Maxwell Award and 16th annual Chuck Bednarik Award.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the NFL Hall of Fame.

Nine Pac-10 players are on the 45-man Bednarik Award watch list:

Akeem Ayers, LB, UCLA

Vontaze Burfict, LB, Arizona State

Jurrell Casey,DT, USC

Mason Foster, LB, Washington

Trevin Wade, CB, Arizona

Kenny Rowe, DE, Oregon

Stephen Paea, DT, Oregon State

Rahim Moore, FS, UCLA

Mike Mohamed, LB, California

Nine Pac-10 players made the 45-man Maxwell Award watch list:

Matt Barkley, QB, USC

Allen Bradford, RB, USC

LaMichael James, RB, Oregon

Jake Locker, QB, Washington

Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford

Chris Polk, RB, Washington

Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Oregon State

James Rodgers, WR, Oregon State

Shane Vereen, RB, California

Semifinalists for the awards will be announced on Nov. 8, and three finalists for each award will be announced Nov. 22. The winners will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on Dec. 9.