'All-Americans' in terms of NFL potential

The Pro Football Weekly announced its All-American team Monday, and it's typically fairly interesting because the team isn't built just on college performance. Here's how it describes itself.

PFW’s All-America team annually honors the most talented players in college football and is determined based on considerable feedback from NFL evaluators taking into consideration a player’s pure talent and contribution to his team. Unlike many other teams rewarding the best college football players, PFW places an extra premium on true talent and draft value in the selection process. However, participants are expected to have contributed for the bulk of the season, leaving off some talented prospects who were limited this season. Extra attention was paid to qualities such as toughness, competitiveness and work ethic.

So that's why Stanford's Andrew Luck is the quarterback and not Auburn's Cam Newton: Luck is a superior NFL prospect. And that's why Washington's Jake Locker still made the list, even though his numbers weren't great.

There's a significant Pac-10 presence, though mostly as honorable mentions. Stanford fullback Owen Marecic is the only other conference player to earn "first-team" honors.

Here's the complete list (Pac-10 players are bolded). Juniors are marked by one asterisk (*), draft-eligible sophomores have two (**) and true sophomores have three (***).


Andrew Luck, Stanford**

Honorable mention

Kellen Moore, Boise State*

Cam Newton, Auburn*

Ryan Mallett, Arkansas*

Jake Locker, Washington

Colin Kaepernick, Nevada

Running back

Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State

Honorable mention

LaMichael James, Oregon**

Andre Ellington, Clemson**

Mark Ingram, Alabama*

Jordan Todman, Connecticut*

Mikel LeShoure, Illinois*


Owen Marecic, Stanford

Honorable mention

Anthony Sherman, Connecticut

Wide receivers

Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State**

A.J. Green, Georgia*

Honorable mention

Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina***

Julio Jones, Alabama*

Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma*

Titus Young, Boise State

Tight end

Lance Kendricks, Wisconsin

Honorable mention

D.J. Williams, Arkansas

Michael Egnew, Missouri*

Offensive tackles

Nate Solder, Colorado

Anthony Castonzo, Boston College

Honorable mention

Marcus Cannon, TCU

Danny Watkins, Baylor

Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin

Lee Ziemba, Auburn

Ben Ijalana, Villanova

Offensive guards

Cordy Glenn, Georgia*

Clint Boling, Georgia

Honorable mention

John Moffitt, Wisconsin

Rodney Hudson, Florida State

Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State


Maurkice Pouncey, Florida

Honorable mention

Chase Beeler, Stanford

Mike Brewster, Ohio State*

Defensive ends

Da’Quan Bowers, Clemson*

J.J. Watt, Wisconsin*

Honorable mention

Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue

Adrian Clayborn, Iowa

Allen Bailey, Miami (Fla.)

Cameron Jordan, California

Defensive tackles

Marcell Dareus, Alabama*

Nick Fairley, Auburn*

Honorable mention

Stephen Paea, Oregon State

Corey Liuget, Illinois*

Inside linebacker

Luke Kuechly, Boston College***

Honorable mention

Greg Jones, Michigan State

Manti Te’o, Notre Dame***

Nate Irving, North Carolina State

Outside linebackers

Von Miller, Texas A&M

Justin Houston, Georgia*

Honorable mention

Bruce Carter, North Carolina

Akeem Ayers, UCLA*

Sean Spence, Miami (Fla.)*


Patrick Peterson, LSU*

Prince Amukamara, Nebraska

Honorable mention

Brandon Harris, Miami (Fla.)*

Janoris Jenkins, Florida*

Cliff Harris, Oregon***

Omar Bolden, Arizona State*


Eric Hagg, Nebraska

Jaiquawn Jarrett, Temple

Honorable mention

Mark Barron, Alabama*

Rahim Moore, UCLA*

Ahmad Black, Florida


Alex Henery, Nebraska

Honorable mention

Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State


Drew Butler, Georgia*

Honorable mention

Chas Henry, Florida

Return specialist

Cliff Harris, Oregon***

Honorable mention

Patrick Peterson, LSU*