Pac-12 players dominate Polynesian POY watch list

The Pac-12 dominated the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year watch list, with nearly half of the 38 players hailing from Pac-12 schools.

There are 16 players representing eight different Pac-12 programs.

The award was started in 2014 and is given to the most outstanding Polynesian player who "epitomizes great ability and integrity." Former Oregon quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota was the first recipient. Last year’s winner was Notre Dame's Ronnie Stanley.

Here is who made the cut from the Pac-12 for the 2016 award:

The Mountain West was next with six selections, followed by the Big 12 (2) and Sun Belt (2). The ACC, American Athletic, Big Ten, Conference USA, MAC, SEC each had one. Six players are from independent schools.

Five finalists will be named on Nov. 17, and the winner will be announced Dec. 7.