Teams under consideration for BCS bowls

The Bowl Championship Series (BCS) announced Tuesday the teams that remain under consideration to participate in the five games that comprise the BCS.

Here's the release:

The teams were identified during a teleconference among the 11 Football Bowl Subdivision conference commissioners, the Notre Dame athletics director, and representatives from the Discover Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and the Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO. The No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the final BCS standings will meet in the Allstate BCS National Championship Game January 9 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The champions of the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and Southeastern Conferences automatically qualify for a BCS game. In addition, the highest-ranked conference champion from among Conference USA, the Mid-American, Mountain West, Sun Belt and Western Athletic Conferences earns automatic qualification to one of the BCS games if that champion is ranked No. 16 or better in the final BCS standings.

Finally, given the seven automatic qualifiers described above, three at-large berths will be available. The bowls will fill those berths from teams ranked in the top 14 of the final BCS Standings. No conference may place more than two teams in the BCS games, unless the conference has two teams in the National Championship Game, and neither team is its champion.

The final BCS standings will be compiled Dec. 4. The BCS bowl pairings will be announced at 8:15 p.m. ET on ESPN television.

The champions from the six conferences which receive automatic spots in the BCS games have not been determined. The following is a list of teams still contending for their conferences’ championships:

ACC: Clemson, Virginia, Virginia Tech

Big East: Cincinnati, Louisville, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, West Virginia

Big Ten: Michigan State, Penn State, Wisconsin

Big 12: Oklahoma, Oklahoma State

Pac-12: Arizona State, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA, Utah

SEC: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, LSU

In addition to those teams, the pool of teams remaining under consideration also includes (in alphabetical order): Baylor, Boise State, Houston, Kansas State, Michigan, Notre Dame, South Carolina and TCU.