CU's MacIntyre gets Coach of Year honors

If Colorado fans want some validation for the hiring of Mike MacIntyre, here's some: He has been honored by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes as the winner of the Grant Teaff National Coach of the Year Award.

MacIntyre led San Jose State to its first 10-win season in a quarter century and a final No. 24 ranking this fall before being hired to replace Jon Embree on Dec. 10.

Including a Military Bowl victory in which MacIntyre did not coach but in which future Colorado defensive coordinator Kent Baer did on an interim basis, the Spartans made a 10-game improvement in a two-year span in going from 1-12 to 11-2. The losses came to Pac-12 and Rose Bowl champion Stanford, 20-17, in the season opener, and to WAC champ Utah State.

That sort of turnaround is why MacIntyre was hired in Boulder.

“I am honored and humbled to receive this award,” MacIntyre said in a statement. “It represents a great man and the values I try to uphold. The team and staff at SJSU deserve a lot of credit for this award.”

Also from the statement:

In San Jose State’s first 10-win season since 1987, MacIntyre’s Spartans averaged 42.3 points per game during the regular season, including seven games in which they scored at least 35 points. SJSU’s defense also ranked among the national leaders in several statistical categories. Sixteen Spartans earned All-WAC honors and 36 school and conference records either were tied or broken.

“Mike MacIntyre took over a San Jose State program in disarray and turned it around,” former FCA executive director and longtime college football coach Dal Shealy said. “He hired a group of fellow Christians to join his coaching staff and, not only built a winner, but really got a lot of people in that community on board. Through the years, he’s been one of FCA’s greatest supporters.”

MacIntyre was presented the award at the American Football Coaches Association convention in Nashville earlier this month. Named in honor of former Baylor coach, AFCA executive director and member of the FCA Board of Trustees Grant Teaff, the Coach of the Year Award presented by FCA recognizes a football coach who exemplifies Christian principles and who is involved in FCA. The award is also based on the success and performance of the coach’s team that season. Previous winners include Mike London, last year’s recipient at the University of Virginia, Tommy Bowden, Jerry Kill, Tommy Tuberville, Sylvester Croom and Phil Jones.