Seahawks keep 14 rookies, six new undrafted free agents

The Seattle Seahawks cut 24 players on Saturday, trimming their roster to the NFL-mandated 53 players. Here's a closer look at the final cuts:

Most significant move: They parted ways with veteran defensive tackle Jordan Hill. A third-round pick in 2013, Hill appeared in 27 games over the past three seasons. He had 5.5 sacks in 2014 but has struggled to stay healthy. Pete Carroll said after the final preseason game that Hill might have aggravated his hamstring injury. He's a talented player, but Hill now will have to get healthy and try to catch on with another team.

Most significant non-move: The Seahawks stuck with undrafted free agent Trevone Boykin as their backup quarterback, for now. Boykin had an inconsistent summer and delivered a disappointing performance in the preseason finale Thursday night. This is an area where the Seahawks could still make a move, but for now, Boykin stays put.

Getting younger: A major theme with the initial roster is youth over experience. The Seahawks parted ways with Hill, veteran guard Jahri Evans and cornerback Marcus Burley. They kept 14 rookies on the roster, including six new undrafted free agents. Cornerback DeAndre Elliott, an undrafted free agent out of Colorado State, was probably the biggest surprise. He beat out Burley and 2015 sixth-round pick Tye Smith. Tanner McEvoy, another undrafted free agent, made the team as its fifth wide receiver. George Fant, a project left-tackle prospect, snuck onto the roster as well.

What's next: The Seahawks made two trades, acquiring safety L.J. McCray from the San Francisco 49ers and Dewey McDonald from the Oakland Raiders. That gives them seven safeties and 12 defensive backs on the roster. There certainly could be some maneuvering here in the days ahead.

They cut Will Tukuafu and don't currently have a fullback on the roster. That's something to keep an eye on as well.

Seahawks moves: OL Evans, FB Tukuafu, DT Brandin Bryant, TE Clayton Echard, QB Jake Heaps, LB Steve Longa, WR Douglas McNeil, WR Kasen Williams, WR Uzoma Nwachukwu, RB Troymaine Pope, OL Will Pericak, WR Antwan Goodley, DL Tylor Harris, S Keenan Lambert, WR Kenny Lawler, LB Kache Palacio, DE Ryan Robinson, CB Tye Smith, FB Tani Tupou, TE Joe Sommers, CB Burley, DT Hill, LB Eric Pinkins, OL Terry Poole.