Edward's SEC all-star ballot

In the spirit of next week's MLB All-Star Game, we've decided to get in on the fun with our own shot at building all-star teams in the SEC.

I'll go first, while fellow SEC blogger Chris Low will unveil his team later today.

Since there are two divisions, we're going East versus West. Like MLB, the school from the winning division will be the home team in the SEC championship game. As a bonus, the winning representative will also get unlimited Chick-fil-A during its stay in Atlanta.

(Supplying unlimited amounts of food from The Varsity would leave the team sluggish and bloated before the big game, so we went lighter.)

Without further adieu, here are my East and West all-stars:



QB - Aaron Murray, Georgia, So.

RB - Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina, So.

RB - Tauren Poole, Tennessee, Sr.

WR - Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina, Jr.

WR - Justin Hunter, Tennessee, So.

TE - Orson Charles, Georgia, Jr.

C - Ben Jones, Georgia, Sr.

OL - Cordy Glenn, Georgia, Sr.

OL - Larry Warford, Kentucky, Jr.

OL - Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee, So.

OL - Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina, Sr.


DE - Devin Taylor, South Carolina, Jr.

DE - Melvin Ingram, South Carolina, Sr.

DT - Jaye Howard, Florida, Sr.

DT - Malik Jackson, Tennessee, Sr.

LB - Danny Trevathan, Kentucky, Sr.

LB - Chris Marve, Vanderbilt, Sr.

LB - Ronald Powell, Florida, So.

CB - Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina, Jr.

CB - Casey Howard, Vanderbilt, Sr.

S - Janzen Jackson, Tennessee, Jr. (consider this like the wacky fan vote because he has yet to return to the team)

S - D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina, Jr.


K - Blair Walsh, Georgia, Sr.

P - Drew Butler, Georgia, Sr.

RET - Andre Debose, Florida, So.



QB - Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, Jr.

RB - Trent Richardson, Alabama, Jr.

RB - Knile Davis, Arkansas, Jr.

WR - Greg Childs, Arkansas, Sr.

WR - Joe Adams, Arkansas, Sr.

TE - Phillip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn, Jr.

C - William Vlachos, Alabama, Sr.

OL - Barrett Jones, Alabama, Jr.

OL - Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss, Sr.

OL - Josh Dworaczyk, LSU, Sr.

OL - Brandon Mosely, Auburn, Sr.


DE - Jake Bequette, Arkansas, Sr.

DE - Kentrell Lockett, Ole Miss, Sr.

DT - Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State, Jr.

DT - Josh Chapman, Alabama, Sr.

LB - Dont'a Hightower, Alabama, Jr.

LB - Courtney Upshaw, Alabama, Sr.

LB - Jerry Franklin, Arkansas, Sr.

CB - Morris Claiborne, LSU, Jr.

CB - Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama, Jr.

S - Mark Barron, Alabama, Sr.

S - Tramain Thomas, Arkansas, Sr.


K - Zach Hocker, Arkansas, So.

P - Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss, Jr.

RET - Joe Adams, Arkansas, Sr.