Picking the SEC champion at media days

The SEC football media days kick off Wednesday in Hoover, Ala., and we'll know by Friday who the media attending are picking this season in the SEC.

Here's a bit of advice for the fans: Don't get too bent out of shape if your team isn't the pick. In fact, if history holds true, that's probably a good thing.

Since league expansion in 1992, only four times have the media gotten it right at SEC media days -- 1994 and 1995 with Florida winning both times, 2007 with LSU and 2008 with Florida.

Until the media correctly picked LSU as the SEC champion in 2007, the media had whiffed on the league champion for 11 straight years. Not only that, but none of the 11 teams picked to win the title at the media days during that span even made it to the SEC championship game.

Here's a look back: