SEC denies it has invited Missouri

Could it be that Texas A&M is the only team the SEC adds, at least for now?

The SEC is denying reports that the SEC has decided to add Missouri as the 14th team and move Auburn to the Eastern Division.

Here's what the SEC's official statement said, which was released by associate commissioner Charles Bloom:

"The Southeastern Conference has not agreed formally or informally to accept any institution other than Texas A&M, and there have not been conference discussions regarding changes in divisional alignments."

Obviously, this is an extremely fluid situation, and what happens with Texas is going to drive the remainder of any movement we see in terms of conference realignment.

The SEC has said it has a contingency plan to play next season with 13 teams, although that wouldn't be ideal.

There have been reports that the SEC rejected West Virginia, and it makes sense that Missouri would probably want to remain in the Big 12 if it survives.

Officials at Auburn have said they wouldn't oppose a move to the Eastern Division. Alabama and Auburn could still play every year in that format and also could potentially meet in the SEC championship game. However, such a move would mean rivalries like Alabama-Tennessee and Auburn-LSU would no longer be played every year.