SEC media days lineup unveiled

The SEC has announced the lineup for SEC media days on July 17-19 in Hoover, Ala., and the big news is the number of star players who won't be attending.

In fact, if you came up with a top 10 or top 15 list of the SEC's biggest stars for the 2012 season, as many as half of those players aren't scheduled to be on hand for the SEC's annual preseason spectacle.

Among those not scheduled to attend: South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore, LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu, Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, Tennessee receiver Da'Rick Rogers, LSU defensive end Sam Montgomery, Missouri quarterback James Franklin, South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, Florida safety Matt Elam and Texas A&M running back Christine Michael.

The SEC league office strongly encourages schools to bring their highest profile players. But at the end of the day, it's up to the schools to comply.

Also keep in mind that there all sorts of reasons why certain players don't come. Some may have conflicts. For example, Murray had a trip planned that week. Other players simply don't like the glare of the media, and there are also coaches who don't want to feed players' egos by bringing them or simply think older, more experienced players are better representatives at such an event.

Of particular note is that only six of the 14 schools are sending a quarterback.

The schedule has Texas A&M, South Carolina, Missouri and Vanderbilt appearing on Tuesday, July 17. Then on Wednesday, July 18, Florida, Mississippi State, Arkansas, Kentucky, Auburn and LSU will be on the docket. The final day, Thursday, July 19, will feature Alabama, Tennessee, Ole Miss and Georgia.

Below is the entire list of players who will be attending:


Barrett Jones

Damion Square

Michael Williams


Knile Davis

Tyler Wilson

Tenarius Wright


Emory Blake

Corey Lemonier

Philip Lutzenkirchen


Jonathan Bostic

Mike Gillislee

Lerentee McCray


Abry Jones

Jarvis Jones

Tavarres King


Matt Smith

Collins Ukwu

Larry Warford


Odell Beckham

Zach Mettenberger

Eric Reid


Mike Marry

Donte Moncrief

Charles Sawyer


Johnthan Banks

Gabe Jackson

Tyler Russell


Elvis Fisher

E.J. Gaines

T.J. Moe


Ace Sanders

Connor Shaw

D.J. Swearinger


Tyler Bray

Ja'Wuan James

Herman Lathers


Luke Joeckel

Sean Porter

Ryan Swope


Jordan Rodgers

Zac Stacy

Trey Wilson