Preseason SEC media days All-SEC team

HOOVER, Ala. -- The 2012 SEC media days All-SEC team was announced Thursday, and LSU led the conference with the most first-team selections with seven. The media has voted for a preseason All-SEC team and predicted the order in which each team would finish since 1992.

It should be noted that the media has only picked the correct SEC champion four times since 1992. Those correct picks were Florida in 1994 and 1995, LSU in 2007 and Florida in 2008.

Here are some notes from the league on the All-SEC team:

  • The 222 voters is an all-time high for SEC media days. The previous high was 177 voters in 2010.

  • South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore was the leading vote-getter this season with 201 of 222 votes. He is the fourth running back in the past six years to be the highest vote-getter (2007 – Darren McFadden, Arkansas; 2008 – Knowshon Moreno, Georgia and Percy Harvin, Florida; 2009 – Tim Tebow and Brandon Spikes, Florida; 2010 – Mark Ingram, Alabama; 2011 – Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina).

  • Lattimore (2012) and Jeffery (2011) have been the leading vote-getters the last two seasons.

  • Alabama offensive lineman Barrett Jones is a three-time member of the SEC media days first team

  • South Carolina has had a sophomore make the media days first team for the third straight season – Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, DE (2012); Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina, RB (2011); Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina, DB (2010).

  • Since 2000, Arkansas’ Darren McFadden is the only unanimous selection to the SEC media days All-SEC team, collecting all 80 votes.

  • LSU had the most first-team selections this season with seven. Since 1992, the most players on a first team were nine by Alabama in 2011 and eight by Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009).

  • LSU leads with the most overall selections this season with 13. The total is the second highest ever, behind Alabama’s 16 last season. Prior to last season, Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009) had the most overall selections with 12.

  • LSU is predicted to win the SEC championship by the media for the first time since 2007. It is the second time since 1992 that LSU has been predicted to win the league title. LSU did win the SEC title in 2007 and went on to win the BCS title.

Here is what the complete first team looks like:


QB: Tyler Wilson, Arkansas (127)

RB: Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina (201)

RB: Knile Davis, Arkansas (118)

WR: Da'Rick Rogers, Tennessee (106)

WR: Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas (67)

TE: Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn (158)

OL: D.J. Fluker, Alabama (171)

OL: Alex Hurst, LSU (125)

OL: Chance Warmack, Alabama (124)

OL: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M (87)

C: Barrett Jones, Alabama (183)


DL: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (140)

DL: Barkevious Mingo, LSU (126)

DL: Sam Montgomery, LSU (124)

DL: Corey Lemonier, Auburn (102)

ILB: Nico Johnson (84)

OLB: Jarvis Jones, Georgia (178)

OLB: Sean Porter, Texas A&M (81)

DB: Tyrann Mathieu, LSU (184)

DB: Eric Reid, LSU (142)

DB: Robert Lester, Alabama (131)

DB: Bacarri Rambo, Georgia (126)


K: Caleb Sturgis, Florida (127)

P: Brad Wing, LSU (153)

RS: Tyrann Mathieu, LSU (159)

AP: Dennis Johnson, Arkansas (86)

For a look at all three teams check out the SEC's official website.

Here's the predicted order of finish for the SEC champion and the votes:

1. LSU - 129

2. Alabama - 65

3. Georgia - 14

4. South Carolina - 6

5. Arkansas - 4

6. Auburn - 2

7. Florida - 1

8. Ole Miss - 1

Predicted order by division:


1. Georgia (132)

2. South Carolina (72)

3. Florida (12)

4. Missouri (2)

5. Tennessee (4)

6. Vanderbilt

7. Kentucky


1. LSU (139)

2. Alabama (72)

3. Arkansas (6)

4. Auburn (4)

5. Texas A&M

6. Mississippi State

7. Ole Miss (1)