Ingram, Tate among Doak semifinalists

Alabama's Mark Ingram and Auburn's Ben Tate made the cut, but Mississippi State's Anthony Dixon did not.

The 10 semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award were named Thursday. The Doak Walker is awarded annually to the best running back in college football.

Not seeing Dixon's name on the list was a surprise. He leads the SEC with 11 rushing touchdowns and is right behind Ingram in the race for the SEC rushing title. Ingram is averaging 127.6 yards per game and Dixon 125.1 yards per game. Tate is averaging 114.2 yards per game.

They won't be very happy in Starkville and probably shouldn't be. Dixon has been the heart and soul of that offense this season.

Here's the complete list of the 10 semifinalists: